Real Food Mama

Musings about cooking, eating and everything in between.

A liverwurst conundrum. February 2, 2010

Filed under: Cravings,Farmer's Market — realfoodmama @ 10:29 am
Tags: , , , ,

Recently I have been having a craving. It is insidious, a bit naughty, and creating a moral dilemma. I want liverwurst and I want it bad.

So why not just go buy it? Surely it can’t be that hard to find, right?

Theoretically, no. It can’t. However, the problem I am facing is simply that I can’t find an organic pork liverwurst to save my life, and I have no idea how to make it. The argument could be made that I should simply go buy some conventional liverwurst, eat a few sandwiches, feed some to the kiddo and then move on with my life but I just…can’t.

The reason? It’s liver…liver, the organ that filters all the toxins from the body, the organ that pulls all those hormones and antibiotics given to conventional pork from the blood stream. In short, the most contaminated of all the organ meats. It gives me the heebie jeebies, to be honest. Not because it’s liver, obviously, but because it’s contaminated. Ick.

So I did what any food purist would do, I asked my local pork guy at the farmer’s market if he ever made liverwurst. Unfortunately he looked at me like I had grown a second head and he’s used to weird requests from me – things like lard and beef suet are frequently discussed. However, he said he would look into it. And while he may not make it for me, he is willing to sell me pork livers so I can make it myself. I love the idea of making my own liverwurst, and I have a few recipe sources I could try (isn’t the internet great?!) but I have to admit to being a little intimidated by having a pork liver in my freezer.

In either case, I want nothing more than a nice liverwurst sandwich on thick home made sourdough bread, slathered with home made mayonnaise. Maybe one day!

Until then, Happy Eating!

 

3 Responses to “A liverwurst conundrum.”

  1. Eva Says:

    Any chance of a local butcher helping you with this one?

  2. [...] when he eats his clams or gets really excited about my sourdough bread. Hopefully when, and if, I get that liverwurst he will be equally excited about [...]

  3. liverwurstlover Says:

    Try this.

    http://www.grasslandbeef.com/Detail.bok?no=821

    The paste looks more red-probably because its beef and its way leaner than what we are used to!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.