Real Food Mama

Musings about cooking, eating and everything in between.

Kefir Success!…kind of… February 5, 2010

Filed under: Fight Back Fridays,Home Economics,Raw Goat Milk — realfoodmama @ 11:35 am
Tags: , ,

I am pleased to announce that my kefir grains acclimated perfectly to my raw goats milk and I ended up with a beautiful cup-full of kefir yesterday afternoon. The sour smell was very mild, but I decided to stop the culture anyway, change the milk, and give it a try – I have an aversion to really sour flavors as a general rule. It was the sixth morning of letting the kefir sit in fresh milk overnight and everything seems to be working smoothly.

After straining it and transferring the grains to yet another cup of fresh milk (I want to keep a continuous supply going) I poured myself a little and gave it a try. The flavor was very mild, slightly sweet, and very delicious. The thing I find so interesting about kefir is that it is incredibly rich. I can really only drink about 1/8 of a cup before I feel full. I also made my boyfriend and my son try it. The results of their taste test was not quite as enthusiastic as mine:

My son’s response was “I don’t like it…I want to wash my mouth.” (He’s 2, btw.)

His father was more diplomatic and said something to the effect of “My body isn’t sure what this is.”

So this morning, I re-presented it. This time, however, I had added a small amount of organic cherry juice concentrate. This changed the color dramatically and while I didn’t notice a significant change in taste, apparently the boys did because my son gobbled it up and his father did the same. I am hoping that at some point I will be able to convince both of them to eat it un-altered, however for the time being I am willing to accept that they are getting what they need from it, cherry juice aside.

It was pretty exciting to see my little man drink the kefir. The same way I feel when he eats his clams or gets really excited about my sourdough bread. Hopefully when, and if, I get that liverwurst he will be equally excited about that!

The real goal of all of this, of course, is to make sure that he is given the best possible nutrition at an early age and to teach him enough about food so that when he grows up and starts making his own food choices he does so consciously and with a foundation of knowledge rather than just buying things because he saw an ad for them or because they are cheap. It is all about little steps.

Ironically, the real challenge is not my two year old, but his father. He is a southern boy who was raised on sweet tea, mountain dew, candy, and a variety of fried goods (I can bet they weren’t fried in home rendered lard!). In fact, it is a miracle that the only visible damage was to his teeth (which are wretched). He has none of the other health problems so often associated with that diet. As for my part in it, I suppose that working with 40+ years of food experience is much more of an uphill battle than working with my son, who really only has about 18 months of food experience! So while he is willing to let me render my lard, he still wants me to use it for cherry pies, and though he is willing to try kefir, I imagine that if I presented him with a plate of liver he’d burst into tears.

In either case, I think that the most important thing about changing your diet is being willing and able to go slowly, work in small steps, and allow yourself the benefit of the doubt. With that in mind, I’d rather my son drink kefir sweetened with fruit juice than none at all! And the same goes for his dad.

Happy Eating…and Drinking!

This post has been my contribution to Food Renegade’s Fight Back Friday’s blog carnival.

 

2 Responses to “Kefir Success!…kind of…”

  1. Linda Says:

    Sounds like a success to me! I’ve often heard to start very slow with a new food. Perhaps making smoothies or something to start… let the others get used to it in small doses.

  2. Anita Says:

    Hi,
    I, too, started off with sweetened kefir (smoothies with blueberries, banana, honey, etc.-so much work in the mornings), but now will only drink it plain, & I love it !!!
    In fact, I’ve lost my sweet tooth!
    I think the trick is perseverance, & you’ll win the day!
    Anita


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.