Real Food Mama

Musings about cooking, eating and everything in between.

New and improved food ranting June 13, 2009

Filed under: Baking — realfoodmama @ 12:25 am
Tags:

I have decided that while my old blog is good for the ranting and the bitching, it would be appropriate to move my food specific writing to it’s very own, dedicated locale.

To start things off on the right foot, I thought I would take a moment to brag about the fabulous pie I made that I will not be eating. Alas, I have to give the pie away tomorrow at the farmer’s market. It is promised to the lard man, as he was generous enough to give me free lard last weekend after gaining the promise of a pie.

So here I sit, staring at the rhubarb-strawberry, lardy goodness, wishing more than anything that I could eat a nice big slice before I go to sleep tonight.

Alas that was not meant to be.

Rhubarb-Strawberry-Lardy-Goodness

Rhubarb-Strawberry-Lardy-Goodness

Instead, I will just put up a nice picture of the pie so that all of you can see just how lovely it is and feel my pain. Luckily for me, there is still a relatively large supply of lard left so I can make yet another pie tomorrow. This time we will be going for Cherry.

I think that I will also try to pick up some pastry flour at the Co-Op in the morning so as to help the moisture content. Pie crusts absolutely flummox me, and this afternoon was no different. I muscled it into submission, which led to a rather large crevice which is highly visible in the picture.

In either case, I suspect round two will go better than round one. I may also have to adjust the total lard content, as I was told that if I decreased the lard content 15-20% from the original butter recipe that it would be the appropriate texture. I may have over-reduced.

In either case, it is time for this lard-lady to go to sleep. So to you all, Happy Eating!

 

One Response to “New and improved food ranting”

  1. musketnuss Says:

    I totally adore the combination rhubarb-strawberry!! Looks really tasty, I can understand your pain! But someone else will be very happy to eat it! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Best wishes,
    Musketnuss


Leave a Reply

