Real Food Mama

Musings about cooking, eating and everything in between.

Local organic flour – some baking experiments. July 29, 2009

Filed under: Eating local,Real Food Wednesday,Recipe — realfoodmama @ 11:17 am
Tags: ,

I was finally able to get a few pounds of the local organic wheat flour sold here at my Co-Op. As some of you may have read in this post, there is a local wheat grower’s Co-Op in New Mexico which provides local, organic and heirloom variety wheat flour to many of the local bakeries here in town. It turns out prior to WWII, New Mexico was actually a huge wheat growing state and many of the wheat varieties used are over 100 years old.

Since the flour only comes in 50 lb bags, I got about 5 pounds with which to experiment and have really loved the results, so I thought I would share the most recent recipes with everyone:

    Raspberry Buttermilk Pancakes

1 1/2 cup flour soaked in 1 1/2 cup buttermilk for 2 hours. (I didn’t get a chance to do this overnight unfortunately. I plan on trying a longer soaking the next time.)
3 Tbsp butter (other fat can be substituted – coconut oil would probably be delicious!)
3 Tbsp raw honey (or sweetener of choice)
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp aluminum free baking powder + 1/2 tsp baking soda ( I tried one without additional leavening not knowing how the soaking would affect the mix and it was like a really thick crepe…which was good, but not what I was going for!)
tsp organic vanilla extract
about 1/2 c fresh organic raspberries

I heat a cast iron skillet to about medium then place approx 1 Tbsp light olive oil or butter in the pan. Once it has heated (or melted in the case of the butter) I wipe it clean with a paper towel and then use this “mop” to re-grease between cakes. I typically measure out about a 1/3 of a cup of batter at a time.

The fresh raspberries add a nice tartness which compliments the buttermilk flavor well. I look forward to making bread with this flour, as I have yet to do so. My sourdough starter, discussed here, has taken off nicely and I am sure that it will produce a great loaf. More details on that soon!

This post is my contribution to Real Food Wednesday’s, hosted this week by Cheeseslave. Happy Eating!

 

3 Responses to “Local organic flour – some baking experiments.”

  1. Cara Says:

    That’s great! I was so excited to find that we have local organic wheatberries for grinding, and unbleached white flour here at reasonable prices. I’ve heard of people stopping by Wheat Montana on road trips just to get our flour. Even our walmart carries the unbleached white flour, which just makes things easier sometimes.

  2. Alyss Says:

    Oooh.. what a delicious looking recipe! I never think to put berries in my pancakes, I prefer jam and yogurt on top 🙂

  3. […] of water 1/2 c sourdough starter 1 c all purpose flour – this is my local flour discussed here 1/2 c whole wheat flour 1/2 c sweetener (I used evaporated cane juice) 1/3 c shortening (I used […]


Leave a Reply

