Real Food Mama

Musings about cooking, eating and everything in between.

Home Made Mayonnaise – Attempt 1 August 12, 2009

Filed under: Real Food Wednesday,Recipe — realfoodmama @ 8:23 am
Tags: ,

The ingredients

The ingredients

I have been wanting to try this for a while and I finally decided to make my first attempt tonight. I am sorry to say that the results were less than what I had hoped!

I found a recipe in Nourishing Traditions and decided to follow the recipe to the letter, seeing as this was my first attempt. It is rare that I will follow a recipe this closely and even though I had the best intentions, I am afraid to say that I was unable to stick to it.

Sadly the results were not what I had hoped they would be!

The recipe from Nourishing Traditions was as follows:

1 egg + 1 egg yolk
1 tsp dijon mustard
2-3 TBSP lemon juice
a generous pinch of sea salt
3/4 – 1 c olive oil
whey (optional and not used this time as I didn’t have any)

So I did that. And then tasted it. And was kind of appalled, to be honest.

For one thing there wasn’t nearly enough salt. So I added about another 1 1/2 teaspoons. Then I added about a tsp of apple cider vinegar because…well because. Then I added about another tsp mustard – yellow this time instead of dijon. Then I tasted it again and while it was better it still had a horribly weird bitter aftertaste. Akin to…bitter melon. Or possibly chalk.

In either case it appears as though olive oil may not be the best thing to use, however the only other oil I had in the house was expellar pressed canola oil and I just didn’t want to use it, expellar pressed or not. Sally Fallon suggest using a combination of olive oil and sunflower oil, which I may try next time. Or I may try only sunflower oil. Perhaps it was the olive oil I was using, but the results were so terrible I’m a bit nervous about attempting a re-make with a different type of olive oil. I will also be using whey next time, as I plan on trying to make some cheese later this week with my goat’s milk.

In either case, while I like the idea of making my own mayonnaise, and certainly plan on continuing to do it, I will not be using this particular recipe again. Luckily my other kitchen companion, the Joy of Cooking has a recipe for mayonnaise which is slightly different. My next attempt will be with that, so stay tuned and Happy Eating!

This post is part of Cheeseslave’s Real Food Wednesday blog carnival.

 

6 Responses to “Home Made Mayonnaise – Attempt 1”

  1. rebecca Says:

    i love the joy of cooking version much better!

  2. squintingeyes Says:

    I hope you have a better luck next time. Let us know how it goes.
    Cheers
    CheapAppetite:)

  3. April Says:

    I’ve made mayo following the ratio in Michael Ruhlman’s book and it turned out great. I have the recipe on my blog if you want to try it…

    http://www.girlgonegourmet.com/2009/06/potato-salad-pitfalls.html

  4. Kelley Says:

    Although I’ve never made it myself, I used to watch my ex make mayo all the time with just egg yolk and olive oil. It took a lot of patience, carefully add just a little bit of oil at a time and whipping it with a fork, but the end result was always worth it – it was simply delicious!

  5. realfoodmama Says:

    Thank you all so much for the replies!

    April: Thank you for the link, I will definitely try that one out as it looks like a good ratio.

    Kelly: The emulsification was actually not a challenge (I cheated and put it in the food processor 🙂 The problem was the flavor of the olive oil. I used extra virgin hoping the flavor wouldn’t come through, but it did.

    However, I tried it on a sandwich today and it was delicious. The mysterious after taste I mentioned in the post was not apparent when it was combined with so many other flavors.

    – RFM

  6. Melanie Says:

    I’ve made it with plain old olive oil, as opposed to extra virgin. I thought it made a huge difference in the flavor. Maybe worth a shot for you, since it isn’t so bitter…?


Leave a Reply

