Real Food Mama

Musings about cooking, eating and everything in between.

Home Made granola – Coconut flavor! August 25, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Recipe — realfoodmama @ 2:11 pm
Tags: , , ,

Coconut Granola

Coconut Granola

The weather has been chilly and wet for the last few days, and there is nothing I like better! It means I can bake and cook at will without having to worry about making the house so stifling no one can be in it. Aside from a delicious East Indian feast and the worlds most decadent almond butter chocolate chip cookies (recipe forthcoming!) I also made some granola.

Granola is a winter favorite of mine. There is just something about it that makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside, especially if you pour warm milk over it in the mornings and drink a nice cup of tea while you watch the snow fall…

Pardon me while I fantasize about winter!

Suffice it to say, the first batch of granola for the year is always a big deal for me. And this time I am trying something new, which is also always fun. I finally replaced my toxic chemical cheap coconut oil with some of the good stuff and am making a big batch of coconut granola. Here’s how I’m doing it:

Coconut Granola

4 cups rolled oats (you can soak these before hand if you want, just be sure to rinse them and let them air dry a bit otherwise you’ll have mushy granola)
1/2 c wheat germ
1/4 c demerara sugar (regular brown sugar works as well)
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 c coconut oil
1/4 c raw local honey (I buy tamarisk honey when it is in season…it has a fabulous flavor!)
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
1 c unsweetened coconut flakes

Mix the oats, wheat germ, salt and sugar together in a bowl until well mixed. Combine the oil, honey and vanilla extract in another bowl, preferably one with a nice pouring spout. Alternatively you can use a measuring cup. While stirring the dry ingredients, slowly pour the liquid over the bowl, mixing the wet and dry together thoroughly. The key is that you want the oil/honey mixture to coat each part of the granola. If you don’t you will end up with big sticky chunks, and other places that aren’t coated at all.

Mixing the wet and dry thoroughly.

Mixing the wet and dry thoroughly.

Jelly Roll pan

Jelly Roll pan

Once the mixture is combined, pour the granola out onto a large jelly-roll pan. You want a pan with nice high edges to contain the granola! Bake at 325 for 20-25 minutes.

Be sure to check on the granola after about ten minutes and give it a good stir, especially if you have a well seasoned cookie sheet. This will keep the granola from burning on the bottom and make sure it cooks evenly.

When it is finished, take it out and transfer to a large bowl. Add the coconut flakes. Let the granola cool completely before putting it in covered storage, especially if you are storing it in plastic. This will keep it from clumping.

Happy Eating!

This post has been submitted to Cheeseslave’s Real Food Wednesdays.

 

8 Responses to “Home Made granola – Coconut flavor!”

  1. Hi,
    I saw your post on Foodbuzz for this recipe and was intrigued immediately. I love granola and eat store bought often,but never made it at home- don’t really know why. I always have a lot of rolled outs and other than oatmeal don’t know what else to do with them. So thank you so much for sharing this recipe, I really want to try it.
    Question could the coconut oil be replaced by another? I can’t find coconut oil. I understand the oil gives it flavor, so curious 🙂
    Thanks!

  2. realfoodmama Says:

    Hi there!

    Yes you can use any kind of oil you’d like. I usually use sunflower oil as it doesn’t really taste like anything. Ideally, you want to use an oil that won’t infuse any flavor into the granola, unless it is something like coconut oil.

    Olive oil, for example, would be a bad idea! Hope you give it a try and glad to hear you like the recipe!

    – RFM

  3. […] stand by recipe to create a much more decadent and fabulous almond butter cookie! As promised in this post, here is the recipe for these delicious […]

  4. Mallory Says:

    Hi! I can’t wait to make this granola–I adore coconut!!! I have really been wanting to buy some coconut oil, but am confused as to what to buy. When I saw your post about the bad stuff you bought, it made me even more concerned because I too HATE wasting food and money on something I thought was good. Can you recommend a particular brand or tell me what I should look for?

    Thanks!

    • realfoodmama Says:

      Hi Mallory!

      I found Nutiva (you can see the widget on my page) to be the best of what I’ve tried so far. It smells divine, has a totally clear consistency when warm…it’s rock solid white below about 75 degrees, and gives a wonderful flavor to everything I’ve tried it in.

      The key is to find an extra virgin expellar pressed no-hexane used brand. So far Nutiva is the only one I’ve found. I’m a total convert!

      – RFM

  5. […] I’m also entering this post into Real Food Wednesdays. Go there to check out some other great, real food recipes like Real Food Mama’s Coconut Granola. […]

  6. […] decided to use Steel Cut oats instead of rolled oats as I had recently posted a rolled oats recipe for my home made granola. It has been so cold and rainy here that I have been craving puddings – delicious, rich, warm […]


Leave a Reply

