Real Food Mama

Musings about cooking, eating and everything in between.

Almond Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies August 26, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Recipe — realfoodmama @ 2:03 pm
Tags: , ,

Almond butter decadence.

Almond butter decadence.

I love cookies, and peanut butter cookies were an all time favorite for me. Due to both the recent safety issues with peanut butter and the fact that my eighteen month old son has yet to be given peanuts I have had to modify the old stand by recipe to create a much more decadent and fabulous almond butter cookie! As promised in this post, here is the recipe for these delicious morsels.

Almond Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies:

Modified from the Joy of Cooking PB cookie recipe

1 1/2 c all purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/3 c (approx 5 1/3 TBSP) unsalted butter*, softened
1/2 c sugar
1/2 packed brown sugar
1 egg
1 c salted almond butter*
3 TBSP sunflower oil*
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp almond extract
2/3 c chocolate chips

*There are a couple of keys to this recipe. First, use salted almond butter. If you don’t, you’ll have to add salt either via using salted butter or by adding 1/2 tsp to the dry ingredients. This isn’t a big deal, but if you use unsalted almond butter and forget to add salt the taste will change dramatically. Secondly, almond butter seems to be a lot more dense than peanut butter and can dry your batter out, so adding a few tablespoons of sunflower oil is necessary in order to avoid a really dry crumbly cookie – which is fine if you like cookies that crumble, I happen not to!

Whisk the dry ingredients together in a bowl and set aside.

In a large bowl beat the butter and sugar together until well blended. Add the egg, almond butter, extracts and sunflower oil and whisk several times until everything is incorporated. Add the flour mixture and mix until blended. Add the chocolate chips.

Using a round tablespoon measure, measure out the cookie dough. Place each round on an un-greased cookie sheet, flattening slightly. Bake at 375 for 12 minutes. This makes about 1.5 dozen cookies.

Happy Eating!

 

7 Responses to “Almond Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. I love almond butter. I’ll have to make these… šŸ™‚

  2. Diana Says:

    I’m so glad you stopped by my site! I can now follow your blog!! Love it!! Good luck with the Nutella, I’m going to be making your granola šŸ™‚

  3. Chris Says:

    Thank you for sending me the post. I will try making them soon. Sounds delicious!

  4. squintingeyes Says:

    This looks really good. I’m glad you added tips on using salted almond butter and extra oil:)

  5. April Says:

    Great twist on a classic cookie– can’t wait to try it!

  6. Gina Says:

    I love almond butter and almonds in cookies so I’m sure I would love these!

  7. I love almonds, this recipe looks delicious! I couldn’t give up my peanut butter though, my family cant live without out. I use to eat it out of the jar as a tot, my how times have changed!


Leave a Reply

