Real Food Mama

Musings about cooking, eating and everything in between.

First time using my pasta maker! January 6, 2010

Filed under: Kitchen Toys,Real Food Wednesday,Recipe — realfoodmama @ 2:45 pm
Tags: , , ,

My new toy!I love my new toy. It is by far the most fabulous piece of kitchen equipment I own. I have periodically made pasta from scratch for several years now, ever since a neighbor looked at me and said “Pasta is so easy…you could definitely do it”. And so I did.

My first batch was successful for the most part, but I struggled with rolling out the dough and getting the right texture. A problem I struggled with regularly up until yesterday. I could spend upwards of thirty minutes rolling out the elastic dough and still not achieve the texture and thinness I desired. But no more!

Using the same pasta recipe as always, I was able to create fabulous spaghetti using my new machine. Thin, light and with a beautiful texture, it was by far the best pasta I have had in a long time.

Home Made Pasta

2 c all purpose flour
3 eggs
1 TBSP olive oil
approximately 2 TBSP cold water*

Place the flour on a clean, flat counter top and create a mound. Dig a well in the middle and crack your three eggs into this well. Using a fork, whisk the olive oil into the eggs, and then continue to whisk, slowly adding the flour until it starts to thicken. At this point, use your well floured hands to combine the rest of the flour and the water, if necessary (see note below)

*Depending on your climate, you may not need to add any water to the mixture, however Santa Fe, NM has a relative humidity in the single digits and without a few tablespoons of H2O, my pasta dough dries out and becomes unusable.

Once the dough has come together, continue to kneed until you have a smooth, elastic quality. Shape the dough into a ball and cover with a damp towel. Let rest at room temperature for 30-60 minutes.

After the dough has rested, you are ready to roll it out. I had to season my pasta maker (by running a small quantity of dough through it to make sure everything was grime free) but once this was accomplished it was a simple matter of flouring the rolly parts and then getting to work.

Rolling the dough.

The end result was the beautiful pasta seen here…
The finished product...yuuuum.
…cover it in home made red sauce, sprinkle some fresh parm on it and voila! The best pasta ever!

This post has been my contribution to Cheeseslave’s Real Food Wednesday blog carnival. Check it out for more delicious posts!

 

8 Responses to “First time using my pasta maker!”

  1. Drick Says:

    this is something I need to put on Santa’s list … even fresh pasta from the stores does not compare (I live next to an Italian chef)

  2. ValleyWriter Says:

    I love my pasta maker, too. And fresh pasta is SO much better than the dried stuff. I’ll never go back!

  3. Erin Says:

    I love your blog – it makes real food seem so accessible to those of us still weaning ourselves off processed foods. Found you via RFW! Thanks!

  4. realfoodmama Says:

    Thank you so much Erin! I try to participate in RFW regularly but the last month was too crazy, what with the holidays and all.

    Thanks for reading!

    – RFM

  5. Shari Says:

    I too love my pasta maker. Nothing like fresh pasta!

  6. Gaby Says:

    Dear Real Food Mama, I saw your post on Cheeseslave and had to check out your photos. I have never seen how pasta is made, so I enjoyed your blog immensely! There are some wonderful shots of the dough. Very professional and I will definitely be back to have a bite of more.
    Thank you for sharing,
    Gaby

  7. P. Tsaldari Says:

    Isn’t making your homemade pasta just wonderful? Bin doing it for years and it always seems to taste so much better, just the way I remember my grandmothers tasting. Thank you so much for sharing this information with us. You do such wonderful writing and research.
    Many thanks,
    Cheers,
    PT

  8. […] dried, crushed) 4 inch fresh thyme (1 tsp dried, crushed) salt and pepper to taste 1 lb noodles (home made or […]


Leave a Reply

