Real Food Mama

Musings about cooking, eating and everything in between.

So Long, Fresh Milk January 27, 2011

Filed under: Animal Husbandry,Raw Goat Milk — realfoodmama @ 11:12 am
Tags: , ,

Eek!

This week is the week I am going to finally dry up my poor goat. She has given me copious amounts of liquid white gold for nearly a year now, but the continued lactation is finally taking a toll on her. She is skinny, she dislikes getting up on the milk stand, frequently kicks at me and generally looks annoyed whenever I come down to the pen with the milk pail in hand.

I am anticipating a long dry spell this year. My Nubian didn’t get bred until November so she is not due until April. That means I am looking at at least two months of milklessness (yes I realize that isn’t a word). In an effort to alleviate the horror of it all, I made a gallon of kefir yesterday in order to continue to bake and make pancakes. I suppose I will just have to give up on alfredo sauce altogether. The household will continue to purchase yogurt as the primary eater of yogurt hates the flavor of goat anyway (sorry to out you mom!) and we always have half and half about for coffee and such for a similar reason. I suppose I can resign myself to putting half and half in my tea if I must.

The alternative, of course, is to buy raw goat milk from a friend or the farmer’s market but that really just get’s my goat, so to speak. I hate buying it when I actually own the animals! Regardless, I think my girl will be much happier when she no longer is obligated to feed us. She needs a nice long rest to put on some fat and enjoy life before I get her impregnated this fall.

 

Leave a Reply

